Writer Introduction

Just a Little Intro Post — Greetings!

Malia Gibson
3 min readDec 30, 2022

Hi everyone, I’m Malia! I’m incredibly excited to start writing here on Medium and connecting with fellow writers and readers.

To start things off, I wanted to introduce myself to you!

New York, New Yoooork!

First off, I’m from San Diego, California. So naturally, I say “dude” constantly. Because “dude” for me is synonymous with “friend.” So if I say “dude” to you, I think of you as a friend or someone I vibe with.

I also have a degree in Physics. Two fun memories from getting a Physics degree:

  • Solving 3-D calculus equations (yes, I actually found calculus fun)
  • Creating a 3-D computer simulation of our solar system with the C programming language (this also doesn’t sound fun in the traditional sense, but trust me — it was!)

After college, I worked as an engineer for a US company. While it was a reliable job, through a series of amazing events, I also became an environmental activist. Where? None other than the youth constituency of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity.

After leading marketing and communications initiatives as an activist, I realized that my heart was yearning to be creative. In this first creative role, I could not WAIT to start working every day. I had to stop myself from overworking every day because I wanted to work all the time out of excitement.

Which is why, even as I’m still working as an engineer, I’m now also a travel content writer. I’m even considering travel photography and/or blogging because several friends have been encouraging me to hurry up and get started.

But who am I outside of my academic and professional background?

I’ve traveled to 30 countries (so far!) as a digital nomad and love connecting with other cultures while working remotely.

My reason?

In school in the U.S., growing up, I always felt like we were never really learning that much about other countries. We would skim the surface, but barely. So I wanted to go out into the world and learn about other countries by connecting with locals and seeing their culture through their eyes.

This is why I started the digital nomad life in 2017. Life is short, so follow your own heart, my friends!

Happy as a clam in front of The Falls located in Gardens by the Bay, Singapore

Outside of traveling, I enjoy connecting with people, writing, reading, exercising, hiking, and kayaking. One of my biggest life goals is to kayak through the glaciers of Greenland.

When I’m not in the great outdoors, I love watching stand-up comedy. Ali Wong, John Mulaney, Ronny Chieng, Trevor Noah, Jo Koy, and many others never fail to make me laugh. Because laughter is the best medicine and one of life’s greatest joys.

While I love these hobbies and interests, my life mainly revolves around eating great food. I am a mixed Asian person, so I grew up eating rice, adobo, and lumpia. One of my favorite memories to this day is picking mangoes from the mango tree in my Lola’s backyard in Hawaii.

So, if you’ve read to this point in the post, thank you!

I’ll be here on Medium and other places on the Internet, writing mostly about travel and remote work, with perhaps a few other topics sprinkled in.

I’m happy to be here with you all!

If you enjoyed the content, please follow me and leave a clap!

I’m an engineer and freelance writer. I’ve worked remotely for five years and have traveled worldwide as a digital nomad. And guess what? If you want to get in touch about writing or travel, my email is: malia.e.gibson@gmail.com

Did you like this story ☺️? You might like these ones too ⬇️

--

--

Malia Gibson

Seasoned digital nomad and traveler who loves conducting thought experiments. Feel free to click: maliagibson.medium.com/about